1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Ghostlab: Getting Started
  4. Migrating Settings and Sites from Ghostlab 2 to 3
  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Various
  4. Migrating Settings and Sites from Ghostlab 2 to 3

You can (but don’t have to) migrate your Ghostlab 2 sites and settings to version 3 – here’s how.

 

Windows

Not much to do here…before you can install Ghostlab 3, you need to uninstall Ghostlab 2. Do so without worries, it won’t delete the sites and settings. After you have then installed Ghostlab 3 and start it up, your sites and settings from Ghostlab 2 should already be there.

OS X

The Ghostlab 2 sites and settings are located in the preferences file ~/Library/Preferences/com.vanamco.Ghostlab2.www.plist. If you’ve already started Ghostlab 3, you will see a file com.vanamco.Ghostlab3.www.plist located next to it – these are the sites and settings for Ghostlab 3. Note there is no way to merge them – if you want to import your sites and settings from version 2, best do it at the start according to the following instructions.

  1. Start Ghostlab 3 at least once on your computer
  2. Open a finder window, and use the “Go to folder…” feature (Go -> Go to folder). Then enter ~/Library/Preferences and press enter. This should open the Preferences folder in your user Library.
  3. Locate the file com.vanamco.Ghostlab2.www.plist and create a copy of it.
  4. Then delete the file com.vanamco.Ghostlab3.www.plist, which was generated by running Ghostlab 3 at least once.
  5. Now rename the copy of the Ghostlab2 plist to com.vanamco.Ghostlab3.www.plist
  6. Done – when you start Ghostlab 3 the next time, it should have the sites and settings from Ghostlab 2.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles